Undergraduate Awards

Chapter Balfour Award

The Balfour Award contains three levels of distinction: chapter, province and international. The process of conferring the different Balfour Awards is progressive, as an award winner progresses from one level to the next. 

Each chapter selects its own Chapter Balfour Award winner using the criteria that they feel results in the selection of their "most outstanding graduating senior." The chapter can recognize a brother who has graduated in December, or who will graduate after the spring or summer term. Either way, the selected brother must graduate in the current academic year. Each Chapter Balfour Award winner receives a plaque denoting his achievement.  Each chapter's winner is also eligible for the Province Balfour Award.

Province Balfour Award

To apply for the Province Balfour Award, a Chapter Balfour Award winner is required to submit his Province Balfour Award application to his Grand Praetor. Deadlines vary from province to province, so contact your Grand Praetor for more information. To access the Province Balfour Award application, please click here. 

Province Balfour winners will receive a complimentary K.S. “Bud” Adams Life Loyal Sig membership and a plaque denoting his achievement.

To view a list of award recipients, please click here.

International Balfour Award

The International Balfour Award has been presented annually since the 1929 to 1930 academic year, when Paul Hagemann, WASHINGTON (ST. LOUIS) 1930, was recognized as the inaugural recipient. The committee that oversees the award selects the individual who they believe to be the Fraternity's most outstanding graduating senior based on his achievements in scholastics, campus and community involvement, and Sigma Chi involvement.